HendersonvilleNews Stories

Primary Races in Henderson County


By Pam Danz-On Friday, February 28 candidate filing closed, and we now know who will be running in our primaries leading up to the General Election in November. Eight Republicans, three Democrats, and two Libertarians  registered to run for North Carolina’s hotly contested US Senate seat. The Republicans include Ted Alexander of Shelby, Alex Lee Bradshaw of Hickory, Greg Brannon of Cary, Heather Grant of Wilkesboro, Mark Harris of Charlotte, Edward Kryn of Clayton, Jim Snyder of Lexington, and NC Speaker of the House Thom Tillis of Cornelius.  The Democrats are fielding incumbent Kay Hagen of Greensboro as well as Ernest T. Reeves  of Greenville and Will Stewart  of Hampstead. Sean Haugh of Durham and Tim D’Annunzio of Raeford are running as Libertarians.
Democrats Keith Ruehl of Barnardsville and Tom Hill of Zirconia will be duking it out in District 11 to become their party’s candidate for the US House of Representatives.
In District 117 Chuck McGrady of Hendersonville and Ronnie Edwards of Mills River are vying to represent the Republican side of the ticket for the NC House of Representatives.
There are three openings on the Henderson County Board of Commissioners. Seven Republicans have filed as candidates to fill those seats. They are:  Andrew Riddle, Incumbent J. Michael Edney, and Hogan Corn, all from District 1; William  G. Lapsley and Larry R. Young, both from District 3; and Incumbent Tommy Thompson and Tim Griffin, both in District 4. (See attached Henderson County Commissioner Districts Map from the Board of Elections site.)
Unless an unaffiliated candidate turns up before the end of June and gets on the ballot for the General election, Primary voters can determine which of the above candidates will become their County Commissioners.  This is because the Republicans are currently running unopposed and the have some real clout as to who will be making the laws by which you must live.  If you don’t vote in the Primary, you may not get to determine who will be your County Commissioners and you will not decide whom  candidates who receive the highest vote counts in their districts in the primary will be determined to be the winners in the County Commissioner race.  Henderson County Primary voters may vote across district lines for any of the above candidates, but the votes are tallied by district.  Theoretically, a candidate could be the only candidate in his district to receive a vote and win by that one vote.  Nedra Moles is retiring and three Republicans are running for her position as Register of Deeds: Evona Johnson Kilpatrick, Lee King and C. Shannon Baldwin.
Republican incumbent Sheriff Charles S. McDonald has two Republican challengers, Erik Summey and Michael Brown.
Supreme Court Associate Justice Robin Hudson is being challenged by two other candidates Jeanette Doran and Eric Levinson.
If you have been voting for “the lesser of two evils” now is your chance to your party will back in the General Elections on Tuesday, November 4.
Primary Election Day is Tuesday, May 6, but if you are not registered to vote by April 11 you will not be able to vote in the election in which you will have the most influence this year, the primary election.
On Monday, March 17 absentee voting by mail begins. It ends on April 29. On Thursday, April 24 One-Stop Early Voting Begins. It ends on Saturday, May 3.
Call the Henderson County Board of Elections (BOE) at 697-4970 to determine where you may vote, to receive an absentee ballot, and to obtain information about registering to vote.  The HC BOE is located at 75 E. Central St., Hendersonville, NC 28792.  Their mailing address is: P.O. Box 2090, Hendersonville, NC, 28793 and their email address is: henderson.boe@ncsbe. gov.  Their website is: http:// hendersoncountync.org/ elections/.
Don’t forget your picture ID when you turn up to vote!

Show More

Related Articles